U14’s crowned Div3 champs

A top of the table clash is always a difficult game and promotion contention makes players that little bit more nervous. And so it was obvious yesterday evening in midge ridden Barna/ Furbo with an 8.15pm KO in a winner takes all situation. Fielding without some squad members for a number of reasons the game was cagey starting off as the nervousness of the players was obvious. Colemanstown began to get a foothold of the game halfway through the first half. Kyle Madden and Cathal Kennedy were getting joy down their wings. 5 mins before half time, an inch perfect pass from Jonah Donnellan found Kennedy and he slipped the ball past the keeper. It was a sense of relief more than anything else as it seemed to settle down the lads just before the half time whistle.

Colemanstown began the 2nd half sharply. Donnellan found Kennedy again and this time he rounded the keeper to pass into an empty net. 10 mins later, great work from Cathal Hynes and Dylan Murphy found Kennedy about 25 yards out. He got himself a bit of space and fired in a rocket that found the net with the help of the post. A smashing strike to give him his 2nd hat-trick in 2 games. Conor Walsh, who had been introduced just before half time, was causing the defenders a lot of problems and one of his shots brought a good save from the keeper. The resulting corner from Madden found Diarmuid Ryan who headed home. The last ten minutes Barna came into it but with 5 mins to go, Madden found Walsh who tapped in from 6 yards. Keeper Fionn Flattery dealt with any danger that came his way with good support from Josh Buckely, Diamuid Ryan, Ross Lally & Sean Connolly. Jamie Nutley & Cathal Hynes kept their engines in motion in centre mid throughout the game.

It was a fantastic performance from the team and the 5-0 result confirms them as U14 Div3 league champions. Special mention to Ross Lally who really played a captains part in a fantastic performance. This short season saw the team gain points in every game, 1 draw & 5 wins in a shortened season due to Level 5 Government Covid restrictions.

The step up from Div 3 to Div 2 next season is reputed to be worth between €50,000 and €100,000 to Colemanstown United FC according to the GFA officials who made the presentation last night. Our own Executive Committee will certainly be delighted with that news!. Thanks to Tom Trill, GFA chairman; Terry Lee, Fixtures Secretary; & Jamie Warrick, League Registrar who made a lovely meaningful presentation. GFA officials commented on how great it is to see football being played & matches taking place once more around the city and county. Terry Lee thanked all referees for their ongoing work as without them there would be no matches. He thanked the coaches and both clubs.

Captain Ross Lally was invited to say some words. His words were fitting for the year that’s in it. He thanked the managers Jason Finn & Gareth Lally for their trojan efforts & all parents for taxi duty for training & matches. Instead of the customary 3, Ross gave 4 cheers to the disappointed Barna squad. Due to Covid restrictions, Ross presented the medals to his teammates whom he called up individually, almost forgetting himself as the last medal presentation. He then lifted the cup decorated with green & white ribbons together with Cathal Hynes who helped with the other handle to great cheers & snap happy parents. These days don’t come too often & back last Jan/ Feb at the height of Covid infections and even as near as May we all thought there may not even be a finish to the season. Thanks to the GFA, clubs & referees who helped to make that happen. Thanks to the players for providing the entertainment, their parents & special mention to the team management of Jason Finn, Gareth Lally & Joe Finnerty for the work put in with these lads since they were sprung from our academy over 3 years ago with 2 cups in the trophy cabinet for them since. It was a perfect finale for these U14s only for the midges!

Squad: Fionn Flattery. Josh Buckely, Diarmuid Ryan, Ross Lally, Sean Connolly, Jamie Nutley, Jonah Donnellan, Cathal Hynes, Cathal Kennedy, Dylan Murphy, Kyle Madden, Conor Walsh, David Walsh, Killian Hughes, Patrick Flynn