Priceless win for ‘A’ team

Colemanstown ‘A’ team knew they had to be at their best and they duly responded to earn a priceless 2-1 victory over Corrib Celtic in Annaghdown in a stern test yesterday evening. This was a must win game so that our boys could edge themselves out of the relegation zone. Although the kick off time was delayed a little due to a poor pitch surface, Colemanstown started well taking the game to the hosts albeit both defences dominated the first half. Paddy Mullins and Stephen Walsh went closest in the first half but saw their goal bound efforts saved. In the second half Colemanstown conceded against the run of play. Corrib Celtic scored after breaking down the right, whipped in a cross but despite the best efforts of Niall Gelston in goals and Jayo Finn the ball went over the line. However, this buoyed up our lads who went all out to overcome the deficit. They were justly rewarded when Kevin Reilly broke in from the right and was adjudged to be fouled just inside the box. The home crowd were not impressed with the decision and Paddy Mullins showed great composure to equalize. Colemanstown dominated the next stages while the hosts were unable to match their pace & movement in the middle of the park. Stephen Rabbitte was introduced with 20 mins left and he turned out to be the match winner. An excellent delivery from Alan Finn found the head of Rabbitte whose looping header evaded the keeper and went into the net. Corrib Celtic went gung-ho for a share of the spoils but some resounding defensive displays from Alo Finn, Jayo Finn, Lee Murphy & Richie Lally assisted by our midfielders ensured Colemanstown left Annaghdown with a crucial 3 points in their battle to avoid the drop. They play title chasing Mervue United tomorrow night in Colemanstown @ 7:30pm in another vital game for both sides. All support appreciated for the boys in green

Team: Niall Gelston, Alan Finn, Jayo Finn, Lee Murphy, Richard Lally, Paddy Mullins, Ronan Geraghty, Gareth Lally, Kevin Reilly, Ray Moran, Stephen Walsh

Subs: Stephen Rabbitte for Ronan Geraghty; Damien Wynne for Stephen Walsh

Subs not used: Matt Moran, Niall Cunningham.