Colemanstown U14s yield to Moyne Villa

Our U14s travelled to Headford for 7.30KO yesterday evening to take on Moyne Villa who currently lie 2nd from pole position. What marvellous facilities in Headford and very well maintained too….. Sean Hansberry had the earliest of chances with a free kick on 4mins which took a deflection off the wall and rebounded off the crossbar. Jason Connolly was called into action early in the game with a few fine stops. Conor Moran went close with a quickly taken free kick from Sean Hansberry but Moyne Villa’s keeper held the ball well. Moyne Villa opened the scoring on 26mins after a free kick was swiftly floated in and their striker beat the defence and the offside trap to score from 12 yards. 4mins later the hosts doubled their lead on the counter when their striker rounded our defender to finish an exquisite goal leaving Jayo Connolly with no chance. 2-0 half time.

The 2nd half saw the introduction of Darragh Diskin & Josh McGuire-Greaney. 10mins after the restart Jason Connolly made a triple save injuring himself in the process. Gillys magic bottle did the trick and up he hopped to continue the action. Conor Byron’s speculative shot from distance wasn’t too far off target. The hosts turned the screw in the last 10mins after poor defensive errors were capitalised on and their striker found himself one-on-one with the keeper to go 3-0 up & then scored a 4th shortly afterwards when the goal scorer outpaced Colemanstown’s defence. Colemanstown, though still working hard got a consolation goal late in the game. Ryan Noone chased a lost cause which he turned into half a chance and then like a magic trick he found Conor Moran who released Darragh Diskin. Diskin gloriously nutmegged the hosts custodian to tap into an empty net and claim his first goal of the season. Just 2 games left to play at this stage of the season for David Gilligan’s U14 squad; away to Knocknacarra and home to Salthill Devon.

Squad: Jason Connolly, Liam Molloy, Darragh Hansberry, Liam Gormally, Micháel Ryan, Conor Byron, Conor Moran, Mark Donnellan, Ryan Noone, Michael Flattery, Sean Hansberry, Josh McGuire-Greaney, Darragh Diskin.