Club History

‘Take the road out as far as Monivea, take a left in Monivea village and after some miles on meandering roads, turn right at the ruined castle at Garbally and you will come across the little hamlet of Colemanstown’

Apart from the Quaker Farm, the area is not renowned for anything famous in historical or political terms, but as a soccer club we are definitely on the map. Founded in 1982 the club has to date played a major role in the affairs of the community. There is little doubt but that our club has come a long way since its formation.

In the early 1980’s many of our members/players played with various clubs around the county, namely St. Paul’s, Abbey United, St. Bernard’s, Doonwood Hammers, Foxes Inter Pub, Bohemians, West United, Renmore, Baird Celtic to name but a few. As many of our local talent were playing with other clubs, it was decided to start up a team of our own. Hence the first ever Colemanstown United F.C. Committee was elected as follows: President: Frank Burke; Chairman: Paddy Hynes; Secretary: Gerry Moran; Treasurer: Liam Burke; Manager: Ossie O Grady;

In those early days training took place in 2 different fields, one directly at the back of Burke’s Bar and the 2nd at the front of Burke’s where we eventually settled and now call our club grounds. We are forever grateful to Frank & Bernie Burke & family for their extreme generosity and goodwill in sponsoring the pitch, training grounds and land for the development of our state of the art clubhouse which we now boast today. This was one of the biggest steps forward in the development of the club.

Fundraising in the early years was mainly done by draws, occasional dances, sponsored cycles and race nights. We also held sports days for the youth in the area.

In our first official league match we played Kilcornan Utd. (now Colga F.C.) in Division 2 of the Galway District League.  We had the greatest start winning 9-1.  The good times were about to begin! The panel that day was: PJ Finnerty, Liam Burke, Noel Kelly, Paddy Hynes, Joe Coppinger, Noel Finnerty, Thomas Hynes, Gerry Moran, Pa Ruane, PJ Molloy, Martin Finnerty, Gerry Rohan, & Sean Moran. We had our ups and downs for a few seasons after that, but eventually won our first major title in the ‘85/’86 season when we won Division 2 under the management of Ossie O Grady.  Subsequently seasons went by, there were no trophies, no medals, but several broken legs, great matches, frothy pints and mighty craic!

In the mid ‘90’s we piloted some underage teams. We knew the club would fail to survive without an underage structure. We have continuously fielded numerous teams in various age groups since.

There is little doubt however that the last decade has been our most successful to date not only on the field but as regards the provision of our fully drained playing pitch, shower rooms, meeting rooms, fully equipped kitchen facility, 200 seater stadium and ample opportunity for further development in the not too distant future. Our facilities were officially opened in 2008 by the legendary Irish International Goalkeeper Pakie Bonnar.

In 2018 we were the first Galway club to be awarded the FAI Club Mark (Entry level) and secured LEADER funding in 2018 to complete a fully lighted perimeter tarmac surface walkway incorporating outdoor gym equipment. Everyone – male and female, both young and old are welcome to use these facilities. There are wheelchair accessible gym stations for use alongside four other twin gym stations. Given our expanding club and increasingly growing membership, in 2019 we opened our 2nd fully drained playing pitch; funded solely from various fundraising initiatives supported by the generosity of our local community.

In 2019, we were awarded the FAI Club of the Year – an accolade we will treasure forever… In September 2019, Mr. Noel Mooney, General Manager, FAI, officially opened our 2nd playing pitch & perimeter walkway – the build-up to this was referred to as the ‘Mother of all Stations’ as a mighty revamp of our facilities took place in the lead up to the Official Opening.  It was a day that was well received by eveyone present while it was great to have Mr. Mooney in our presence prior to his return to Switzerland to assume his UEFA post.

In 2019, we signed up to the CARA Disability Charter. Our facilities are open to all disability groups and we have invited many disability groups in our greater environs to use our facilities. In 2020 we signed up to the 20×20 Charter in which we committed to supporting women and girls in sport in our area. This is driven by 20×20 Champions Zoe Kennedy, Laura Parker & Robbie Parker.

Our success story to date is largely due to the dedication, tireless work & commitment of our hard working committee, coaches, volunteers and supporters of the club. It has given a sense of identity and pride to the little hub of Colemanstown. We are working hard to complete the remaining phases of our development plan drawn up in 2018.

The Club thanks State Bodies – FÁS, The National Lottery, GRD, LEADER and all our local supporters who have helped us achieve our plans and ambitions to date. We wish to thank all our supporters since the club’s foundation for their unfailing generosity and the invaluable assistance that was given to us throughout our many fundraising events down through the years. We are a community club based in the heart of a little community to serve the community.

Club Roll of Honour

Season Titles/ Honours Captured
1985/86 Division 2 Winners / Cup Runners-up
1987/88 Athenry 5-a-side Shield Winners
1995/96 2B North Cup Runners-up
1996/97 2B North Cup winners
1997/98 U-18 League Cup winners
U-18 League Runners-up
Div 2B League Winners
League Cup Winners
Ladies Div 1 League Winners
Kiltulla 7-a-side Winners
Div 1 League & Cup Winners
2008/09 Div 1 League Winners (A Team)
2009/10 Div 4 League Cup Winners (B Team)
U-11 Div 1 League Winners / League Cup Runners-up
2010/11 U-12 Div 1 League Winners.
2011/12 U-13 Div 2 League Winners
U-15 Div 2 League Winners/League Cup Runners-up
2013 Ladies Div 1 League Winners/GFA Cup Runners-up
2014 Ladies League Cup winners
2014/15 Div1 League Winners (A Team)
2016/17 Ladies Premier league winners & Ladies league cup winners (Double champs)
Thady Moran – Kennedy Cup Squad
2018/19 FAI Club Mark Entry Level
Youth (U18) Div2 League winners
U12 Div4 League Winners
U13 Div 2 League winners
U15 Div2 League winners
RDFL Masters League champions
2019 FAI Club of the Year
Ladies Cup Runners-Up
Thomas Mellody Galway Utd U13’s
Kellie Brennan – U17 Gaynor Cup winning team
Covid Interuption
U12 Girls Cup Runners-Up
Jonah Donnellan Galway Utd U13’s
Covid Interuption
U14 Div3 League Winners
U15 Div 1 League Winners
A Team League Runners Up (Promoted to Premier League)
2021/22 RDFL Masters Shield Winners
U13 Div2 Cup Winners
U15 Div 1 League Winners
U16 Championship Winners
U15 Div1 Cup Runners-Up
U16 Championship Cup Runners-Up
U12 Girls Div1 Cup Runners-Up